Adams and Jefferson County Hazardous Response Authority FIELD OPERATING GUIDELINES

ADMINISTRATIVE
F.O.G. #: 108
DATE: October 19, 2018

CATEGORY: <u>AJCHRA Authority</u> PAGES: 1

I. Purpose:

A. To define the authority of the AJCHRA.

II. Guideline:

- A. The responsibility for hazardous materials emergencies is federally mandated to the individual states. The State of Colorado requires that local governments designate a local emergency response authority (§29-22-102 CRS).
- B. Adams, Jefferson and Broomfield are Counties organized and exist pursuant to the laws of the State of Colorado. The Board of County Commissioners for Adams and Jefferson County have designated its Sheriff's Offices as the Designated Emergency Response Authority (DERA) for Hazardous Substance Incidents pursuant to Sections 29-22-102 (3)(b) of the Colorado Revised Statutes for all unincorporated area. The City and County of Broomfield has designated North Metro Fire Rescue District as the DERA for those areas within the City and County of Broomfield. The AJCHRA will assist the authority having jurisdiction for the service areas that have designated the AJCHRA as part of the emergency response element of the DERA.
 - 1. Each city is to designate the DERA for incorporated area pursuant to 29-22-102(3)(a) of the Colorado Revised Statutes. If no DERA is designated by a city or town, the fire district/department having jurisdiction will be the DERA pursuant to 29-22-102(3)(a).
- C. The Colorado State Patrol (CSP) HazMat Section is responsible for the recording of DERA agencies and contact information and DERA agencies are required to notify the CSP of DERA contact information annually.
- D. Sections 29-22-103 (3) Colorado Revised Statutes encourages mutual aid agreements between emergency response authorities for the purpose of utilizing equipment and in order to safely handle hazardous substance incidents.
 - 1. Article XIV, Section 18 (2) (a) of the Constitution of the State of Colorado and Part 2 of Article I of Title 29, CRS, encourages and authorizes intergovernmental agreements of this nature.